Review: Sophie’s Choice by William Styron

 

I usually pick books that I end up loving…and I really thought I would love this book. It seems to be a classic that is referenced so often that everyone absolutely loves, but I didn’t enjoy it as much. It was well-written and very detailed and set in the years directly after the Second World War.  There are three main stories being told in this book: Stingo who moves to Brooklyn to pursue writing, Sophie who moved to New York after surviving the holocaust in Poland, and Sophie and Nathan’s relationship as they live in the same boarding house as Stingo. This book is 562 pages long and is very detailed. I felt that it took a bit longer than I would have liked to get to Sophie’s past and her choice. It was one of those books that took me a long time to read because I lost a bit of interest in the story after a while and never really came around to liking the main character Stingo. I almost didn’t write this review because I feel like it’s such a well-loved book written about a character who made it through one of the toughest times in our history. I see why so many people enjoyed it but I couldn’t relate to the main character  – I wish the story had just been about Sophie and Nathan.

Leave a Reply

