Review: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I really enjoyed this book! I meant to read it about 6 years ago but time flies and I forgot. The book has an interesting premise.  A baby finds it way to a graveyard and is adopted by spirits. We follow him as he spends his childhood and early adolescence in the graveyard. At first I was wondering how this would work exactly…but there were explanations for a lot of it. This is definitely a YA book but I still enjoy them (and think I always will) and I think many adults enjoy YA. I enjoyed the characters and the story. I think this could have been turned into a series and I’m hopeful that there will be a sequel at some point. The writing was great, the characters diverse enough, but what really stood out to me was the originality of the story. I read this book in three hours and then was left with the longing to know what happens to Bod now, and what the deal with Silas was, and what happened to the man with the broken ankle, and what would happen with Scarlet. So many aspects that I want to know more about – not because the story didn’t adequately wrap up but because I just cared about the world the characters inhabit. That doesn’t happen to often. Its a rare kind of book for me; a lighthearted novel that I enjoyed enough to wonder about what happens once the book is finished. I’d recommend this book to the types of people who like YA fiction and interesting concepts.

Leave a Reply

