Review: The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

This book was first published in 1894 and is a collection of short stories – which kind of surprised me. I thought it was a book about Mowgli but it has a few stories about other people and animals. I knew the story of Mowgli in the jungle was going to be different from the Disney cartoon version and I wanted to read it before I went and saw Disney’s live action adaptation. The book was quite different, obviously, in some ways that I enjoyed and some that I didn’t. For one thing, there was a bit more death. And it wasn’t as cute. I feel stupid saying that; but it wasn’t as cute! It did include poems and told of the laws of the jungle. Kipling did a really great job of showing the animals personalities, and explaining the reasons why many things happen in the jungle. I was really entranced by the story and since I knew it was different from the cartoon movie so I didn’t really know how it would end. There were other stories after the story of Mowgli, and a few I enjoyed and one or two I didn’t. I loved the story of Rikki-Tikki-Tavi. I’m sure everyone had the story read to them as children; the one about the mongoose who saves the family from the cobra. That one was my favourite in the book.  I only read the first book though, there’s The Second Jungle Book which has more stories about Mowgli that I now really want to get my hands on.

Leave a Reply

