Review: Left Neglected by Lisa Genova

 

I liked it that I didn’t know what this book was about when I started reading, but because I’d read her other books I knew it would be about a medical issue, with the perspective of the person suffering from it. The author is incredible when it comes to explaining medical illnesses in a clear, concise way that educates but doesn’t patronize. This book was no exception. I think Still Alice will always be my favourite of her books, and, to be honest, I didn’t love Love Anthony, but Left Neglected was a great read.  As with the other books you don’t know how it will end – Lisa Genova does her best to be realistic. While the main character was someone I probably would not have liked in real life, I don’t think I agreed or related to any of her priorities or her personality type. I think you have to be into the idea of reading about a woman experiencing a medical catastrophe that seems to make very little sense, that turns her life upside down, and that she may never recover from – otherwise this book might just stress you out and be extremely unenjoyable. This book had quite a bit of humour and quick wit which I liked, it helped break up the depressing content at times. The one thing that stood out to me was the fact that the main character becomes brain damaged due to a car accident because she was trying to make a phone call. Only one time in the book does she then say to her husband that he shouldn’t drive and make phone calls.  With all the things she contemplates and rehashes and dwells on constantly throughout the story I would think driving and being on her phone would have come up a bit….

Leave a Reply

