The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

This book pulled me in mostly because it was by Jojo Moyes and I loved Me Before You, and because the premise of a love letter from 1960 found in 2003 full of mystery was so intriguing. I was pretty hooked on the story of Jenny and Boot, the love affair that began in 1960, but I wish that had been the only story. We’re also told of the love going on in the life of a girl named Ellie, in 2003. The book jumps back and forth between 1960, 1964, 2003  and the perspectives of the two women, the husbands secretary, and that of Boot. I realize that the narrative of Ellie was important because she plays a pivotal role in solving the mystery of the found love letter, but I just didn’t enjoy reading her side of the story or any matters in her personal life. The book was a bit predictable once getting into it, although that didn’t take away from the beautiful writing of Jojo Moyes and how engrossed I was in Jennifer’s story. Society in London in the 1960’s, while not shocking, was interesting to read about and, once again with her writing, I was completely transported to the time and place in the book. To be honest, I think I liked the premise of the story more than how it was all fleshed out. It was still a great read, and I will definitely be reading more from this author. I would recommend this book to other people.  A 3.5 star rating.

Side note. It might have just been the edition that I had, but there were so many typos and grammatical mistakes in my book. His instead of is, so instead of go. And a random ” in the middle of a sentence. I can’t blame the author for these mistakes, and I know I am probably being a snob, and I am no stranger to typos, but still!

Leave a Reply

