Review: Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

 

I know I’m 19 years late on reading this book…I’d seen the movies and didn’t plan on reading it. But then I came across those lists of ’50 Books You Must Read’ and ‘100 Books to Read Before You Die’ and this book kept appearing on the list, surrounded by classics by Austen, Dickens, Orwell, etc. So I was so curious to see what the big deal was. And I really enjoyed it. It was really funny! It was also a very light read so I just flew through it. The diary style (which I suspect Fielding had a hand in making so popular) really made it feel like you alone were in on all of Bridget’s secrets. I also enjoyed the British references and humor. It was very cute how the book references Hugh Grant and Colin Firth – they play Daniel and Mark in the movies. The movie was so close to the book as well that it was really great and didn’t make me think too much about the movie or wonder where they went wrong in the adaptation, or wish they’d put certain scenes in or anything like that. I didn’t relate to Bridget but the beauty of it is that you don’t have to in order to appreciate the book. I feel like the fact that I didn’t relate to Bridget is why I found the book so fun to read. I don’t really want to read about a married woman who spends her evenings knitting in front of jeopardy…

Leave a Reply

