Review: Nine and a Half Weeks: A Memoir of a Love Affair by Elizabeth McNeill

This book was first published in 1978, and made into a movie in 1986. So it’s not new. But I read it because I hated hated HATED Fifty Shades of Grey.. I came across this list of books to read if you liked the idea of Fifty Shades but wanted to actually read a well-written book that was more realistic. I have never been in a relationship that involved a Sub/Dom aspect and I don’t think I ever will be, but I was curios about it. This book is short, less than 120 pages and it is based on the real-life experiences of a woman in New York in the early 1970’s. Her identity was later revealed but thats not important for me. I enjoyed this book because it let me in on an experience that I have never had; an experience and perspective that most people probably wouldn’t be so open about.

This book was very insightful and felt incredibly honest. The woman met a man at a street fair while she was shopping with her friend. They started casually dating and he was unlike any man she’d met before. And then it turned into a sexually aggressive relationship that she had never expected. She goes into full detail explaining how it happened, and how she felt, and what it was like to be in that situation. Some scenes were pretty intense, and there were quite a few times where I couldn’t understand how she went along with it, or why she continued dating him. I really would not have wanted to be in her position, I’m not sure how I feel about the man, and I don’t know if their relationship was healthy in any way, or even that consensual at times. But thats the beauty of this book – it lets you in on that particular experience, and makes you think and question your own stance on BDSM relationships and where you would draw the line. I think that even if you’re a more conservative person, a vanilla person, or whatever – it’s still a good idea, a bit of fun, or just kind of cool to read about other peoples lives and ask yourself the what/why/how and if you can relate in any way.

I had so many questions! I am so curious about who this man was, what happened to him, where he is now, I want to know if he knew that she wrote a book about their time together….

 

 

Going to get my hands on the movie at some point soon…

Leave a Reply

