Review: The Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury

I saw the movie when I was little and fell in love with it. I watch it almost every year now  in October. I decided to skip the movie this year and read the book instead.  It truly is a book for children of all ages. I loved the book and can honestly say that now I love the story even more. It is so inventive and interesting and exciting and I love that it teaches the reader a bit more about Halloween and the cultures and traditions around the world that celebrate it. Ray Bradbury has his own way of writing that makes his style incredibly unique. I will try to get my hands on some more of his books. I didn’t love Fahrenheit 451.. but that had no bearing on this story whatsoever. I am so glad I read this book! It was so descriptive and I really felt like I was with those kids, dressed up in a costume, travelling through time and space. It made me think of what I liked about all the older spooky kids movies like Hocus Pocus, Casper the Friendly Ghost andThe Addams Family, set in a time before smart phones, the internet, and when kids ran around being kids. I felt like I was back in my childhood experiencing the wonder of Halloween. It wasn’t cheesy, it wasn’t overly creepy, the book felt like it had no agenda (the way some books do) and that it was just a legitimate story.  I liked it how he put each of the kids in a traditional Halloween costume and throughout the story explains a bit about ghosts, mummies, and skeletons. I would consider this a classic and would recommend everyone to read it, especially in October to get in the Halloween spirit.

Leave a Reply

