Before I go to Sleep by S J Watson

Before I go to Sleep by S J Watson

I’m not sure how I felt about this book. It was recommended by a friend of mine, who told me that she couldn’t remember anything about the book except that it was ‘really crazy’ and since I wanted to read a thriller and this was the only one she’d read she thought I should give it a try. I don’t know much about amnesia but this case sounds farfetched, but I can deal with that. Fictional stories can be as farfetched as possible and still be great reads. Anyway, Christine goes to sleep each night and forgets everything that has happened since her early twenties. She can only make memories during the day – everything will be wiped from memory when she goes to sleep again.  That would be hell, and it is for Christine, she is scared and sad and unsure of how to get through the day..each and every day. But she’s apparently started a secret relationship with a psychologist who is willing to help her remember, even though her husband is adamant she accept her life now. This quickly turns into a mystery, how did the injury happen to make her forget everything? Why isn’t her husband ok with her seeing someone to help her remember? I don’t usually read mysteries or thrillers so I couldn’t put this one down. I had to know what happened to Christine. I’m not going to call it a masterpiece but I was entertained. Read it before you watch the movie – this isn’t the kind of book you can read after.

Leave a Reply

