Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I finally read it, six months after it came out. It feels like I waited forever though. I kept hearing not-so-great reviews so I wanted to be un-spoiled for a while.  I enjoyed reading it for the fact that it was about Harry Potter, but kind of still wish it hadn’t been published. I think I would have really enjoyed the play,and I’ll still go if I can tickets one day. I think it would have been better left just as a play and not turned into a book – it needs the actors, to be drawn out over a few hours, and not to be considered another Harry Potter book. Because it isn’t.

I liked the premise that all those years later Harry and Ginny’s son is friends with Draco’s son at Hogwarts. I liked that it was a bit realistic in that being Harry Potter’s son wasn’t always an easy thing. But what happened with the other characters was a bit hard to read – Ron and Hermione were really not as I’d pictured them. Ron’s only purpose was to be a bit weird and silly and not to be taken seriously at all. Hermione was all serious and very little human. I also really didn’t like the Dumbledore scenes.

The plot was interesting – the two sons try to go back in time to save Cedric Diggory.. but they’re part of an evil plan and all that. The plot could easily have taken up a 500 page novel, but condensing it to a screenplay was really tight and had very little depth. The issues between Harry and his son weren’t resolved in a way that I was happy with either. This is one of those reviews where I saw that I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it, and use the cliche that It Was What It Was.

Leave a Reply

