Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeons Journey into the Afterlife by Eben Alexander

Someone bought this book for me after my father died while in a coma. I don’t think this had any effect on my ability to read it carefully and with all due skepticism. This is something I believe in but I am always skeptical when someone claims they have experienced it and then wants you to buy their book. This case is a bit more incredible than most because of the illness that Alexander suffered. He really should have died. I can’t believe in his near death experience simply because he is a neurosurgeon… I feel like anyone else could have had that experience and then just talked to a neurosurgeon to confirm that their illness and brain function wouldn’t have made that possible, know what I mean? I liked that its more clinical than other accounts and that Alexander spends much of the book simply relaying facts. It is slightly religious but less religious and emotional than other people who claim to have had a near death experience and for that I was really thankful. I did get a little tired of the author himself… be a little humble.. “Proof” might be a strong word but it was definitely compelling. It was nice and short and I was able to read it all in one sitting. I would recommend this book to people who are curious about near death experiences as I think it really is a great, fairly simple, not overly emotional and righteous – it gets to the point and doesn’t claim to have many answers.

Leave a Reply

